Author Topic: Lionel OO Scale eunit Wiring Diagram  (Read 12326 times)

Jim Cummings

• View Profile
Lionel OO Scale eunit Wiring Diagram
« on: April 06, 2021, 01:48:19 PM »
I got a 3-rail Lionel OO scale engine and tender.  On the tender I cleaned the commutator and brush tubes and adjusted the relay and it works fine.  The engine is another story.  I cleaned its commutator and brush tubes and got the motor running very smoothly.  However, the eunit isn't working.  I can manually move the pawl and get the motor to reverse, but it doesn't work by dropping the power off and on as I would expect.    FULL DISCLOSURE - this is my first attempt at working on an OO gauge eunit.

Since the arm doesn't lift/move to engage the gear at all, I am thinking it has to be an electric issue...or, perhaps there is something I failed to clean!  The eunit reminds me of the old standard gauge manual reversing units.  There's got to be an electrical field(?) created to lift the arm and pull the pawl back which pulls the gear to go from f-n-r; and then the arm just falls until the next power change.

Does anyone have a wiring diagram they can share.  Or, hoping for a 'here's what you gotta do, duh'!!

Thanks in advance.

Jim Cummings

PS I'm new to the forum...

pjdog350

• View Profile
Re: Lionel OO Scale eunit Wiring Diagram
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2021, 02:08:30 PM »
Welcome Jim. I had a friend when I lived in Slidell Louisiana. He did double O gauge. But I never paid any attention to what he was doing. Hope someone will help you out here!
Stay home with your trains and be safe
Life is better with a Dog

Terry

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • eBay Auctions
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2021, 06:39:55 PM »
I have an e-unit like that in my 228 switcher that's faulty. The windings get hot and don't pass current to lift the pawl. It only works for about 2 minutes then it doesn't work again until the loco has sat for at least 20 minutes.