Author Topic: In the beginning...  (Read 21675 times)

early0electric

• View Profile
In the beginning...
« on: August 26, 2020, 03:07:56 PM »
When I was growing up we didn't have much, but I loved trains. There are pictures of me in my crib with train books. I had rubber trains, wooden trains, wind up trains, and more. My first electric train was a red MARX Commodore Vanderbilt with 3 red cars, a hand me down from an older cousin of mine. I still have the loco although repainted way back when. I had dreams of being a railroad engineer. I had an engineers outfit and used to sit at the desk I had at home and pretend I was an engineer on a run. My first Lionel was an HO set with a AEC switcher. I hated it and traded it to a friend of mine for a 2025 set. He had painted the wheels gold and the coal on the tender gold and the inside of the gondola gold. I remember removing as much of it as I could but it's still there and I still have it displayed prominently on my workbench. Not all of us were born with a silver spoon.

starfire700

• View Profile
    • ebay auctions
Re: In the beginning...
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2020, 05:03:47 AM »
I was thinking about this topic, and you beat me to the punch. Excellent idea to do a personal intro about how trains got engraved into our DNA.
Most of us were not born with the silver spoon either.
My first train, at about age 4 or 5 was a Marx 400 plastic loco with 6" litho cars, and I remember having the litho 392 2-piece tunnel and the large circuit breaker. This was 1955 .